Llangynog Parish Council and Community Council Records

Scope and Content

Minute books, 1929-1977; declaration of office, 1946-1979; correspondence, [1940s]-1980; finance, 1913-1980; records relating to Dyfed County Council, 1977-1981; and records relating to Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales, 1976-1978.

Administrative / Biographical History

Parish councils were established by the Local Government Act 1894. Community councils replaced parish councils under local government reorganization in 1974.


Arranged into the following: minute books; declaration of office; correspondence; finance; miscellaneous; Carmarthenshire County Council; Dyfed County Council; Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales; Parish Councils Review; and Local Council Review.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Mrs Una Davies, Clerk of Llangynog Community Council, in 1981.


Compiled by Annette Strauch for ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of the description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Catalogue of Llangynog Parish Council Records.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are possible