Hean Castle estate papers, 1764-1971; and papers relating to the Saundersfoot Railway and Harbour Company, 1829-1857.
Hean Castle Papers
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 D/MER
- Dates of Creation1764-1971
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.057 cubic metres (4 boxes, 4 vols.)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Hean Castle, Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire, had been owned by the Wogan family, the property descending finally on Thomas Stokes, who sold the property to his brother-in-law Edward Wilson. The estate was purchased in the 1860s by a London solicitor, C. R. Vickerman. Following his death, the estate was sold to Sir William Thomas Lewis, Baron Merthyr (created baron 1911) in 1899. The estate descended in the male line, the current occupier being Sir Trevor Oswin Lewis (b. 1935), who disclaimed his peerage in 1977. He also holds Churchton house, Saundersfoot.
Arranged into the following: a copy of standing orders; 'A short Guide to the Parish Church of St Issells Saundersfoot'; estate papers; and Saundersfoot Railway and Harbour Company.
Some items have been temporarily withdrawn
Deposited by Lady Merthyr of Churchton, Saundersfoot, in October 1970, and by Lord and Lady Merthyr of the same, in April 1973.
Compiled by Mair James for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Jones, Francis, Historic Houses of Pembrokeshire and their Families, (Newport, 1996); Debrett's Peerage and Baronetage (London, 1990).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Pembrokeshire Record Office have been retained.
Almost all the papers came from Hean Castle; some came from Churchton. Some were held at the Pembrokeshire County Museum until April 1973.
Accruals are not expected