Papers of James and Baker Morrell, solicitors, as clerks for the enclosure of land in Berkshire parishes. Includes (c. 30) the correspondence and papers of James Morrell as clerk for the enclosure of Aston Upthorpe in Blewbury parish, 1792-4, and (c. 31) of Wootton and Boar's Hill in Cumnor parish, 1795-6; and the papers of Baker Morrell as clerk for the enclosure of Long Wittenham, 1809-16.
Papers of James and Baker Morrell, solicitors, as clerks for the enclosure of land in Berkshire parishes
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
James Morrell (1739-1807) was an Oxford solicitor. He also built the original structure of what became Headington Hill Hall, and along with his brother Mark, he started Morrell's Brewery in Oxford. Baker Morrell (1779-1854) was one of James' sons, and followed his father into the family law practice.
Entry to read in the Library is permitted only on presentation of a valid reader's card (for admissions procedures see http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk).
Bought by the Library from the executors of Mrs. F. P. Morrell, 1925.
Collection level description created by Susan Thomas, Department of Special Collections and Western Manuscripts.
Other Finding Aids
M. Clapinson and T.D. Rogers, Summary Catalogue of Post-Medieval Western Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library Oxford. Acquisitions 1916-1975. (Oxford, 1991), vol. II, nos. 53727-9.