Plan of Keyingham Level and Marshes, and Sunk Island based on two historical maps of 1797 and 1801
Keyingham Level and Marshes, and Sunk Island
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Sunk Island was originally just a sand bank in the Humber Estuary. Since the 16th century it has been reclaimed from the river and has also benefitted from the draining of surrounding land for agricultural use. By the mid 18th century the channel separating the land from the shore had silted-up creating the island that exists today. It became a parish in 1831 and the parish church of Holy Trinity was built in the 1870s. A number of cottages were built in the 1850s and a school. A small fort was built on the island at the outbreak of the First World War and two pillboxes and an anti-aircraft battery during World War Two.
Conditions Governing Access
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Donated by Brian Pashby, Brynmor Jones Library, 10 January 1978