Detailed manuscript notes, made by [Mrs] J. M. Powers, of two lectures given in German by Professor Albert Schweitzer, together with typescript translations of the notes and an accompanying letter from J. M. Powers to Mr [John William] Hoyland. The lectures were delivered at Weoley Hill Village Church under the auspices of the Selly Oak Colleges on 25 and 27 February 1922 under the title The Gospel of Jesus in the light of the history of religion .
Lectures given by Professor Albert Schweitzer
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 150 DA38
- Dates of Creation1922
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish German
- Physical Description1 file
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John William Hoyland was head of Kingsmead, a Selly Oak College and a Quaker study centre set up by the Friends Foreign Mission Association in 1903 to train its workers for foreign service. He was also Chairman of Selly Oak Colleges Council which was set up in 1919 which was the representative body of the seven constituent colleges. Albert Schweitzer was invited to Selly Oak during his visit to England in 1922 when he was delivering his Dale lectures on Civilisation and Ethics at Mansfield College, Oxford. According to a biography of J.W. Hoyland, the invitation to Schweitzer was suggested to Hoyland by John Naish, a Quaker missionary and Schweitzer combined this speaking engagement to Birmingham with a Bach recital on the organ held in Carrs Lane Church. Mrs Powers (ne Metzger), a former member of the Basel Mission in India, joined the teaching staff at Kingsmead in 1920 as a language teacher and she built up a department of language study for the training of missionary candidates.
Reference: H. G. Wood, John William Hoyland of Kingsmead ( London: SPCK, 1931 ).
Conditions Governing Access
Open. Access to all bona fide researchers. All papers held at the Orchard Learning Resources Centre will be viewed at the Birmingham University Information Services, Special Collections Department. Please contact the University Archivist for further information.
The provenance of this collection is unknown. It was formerly held by the Selly Oak Colleges Library and was then transferred to the Orchard Learning Resources Centre which was opened in 1997 following the merger of the Selly Oak Colleges Library and the Westhill College Library.
Other Finding Aids
Please see online catalogue for further details.
Conditions Governing Use
Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the University Archivist, Special Collections. Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Special Collections will assist where possible with identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
Following the merger of the Selly Oak Colleges and the University of Birmingham in 1999 the custodial ownership of collections belonging to the Selly Oak Colleges and held at the Orchard Learning and Resource Centre (OLRC) was transferred to the University. These collections now form part of the University's Special Collections Department and are available for consultation at the Main Library on the University's Edgbaston Campus.