Comprises registers; records of the incumbent (service registers and licences); records relating to church buildings and finances; records of the Parochial Church Council; records of parish charities; records relating to schools; records of parish clubs and societies; tithe records; records of the Church in Wales and miscellanea.
Colwyn (Old Colwyn) Parish Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The parish of Colwyn (now better known as Old Colwyn) was created in 1844, from the townships of Eirias, Colwyn, and Cilgwyn, which had been in the parish of Llandrillo; part of the parish of Llanelian, and the hamlet of Graig from the parish of Llysfaen.
St Catherine's Church was built in 1837 as a Chapel of Ease to Llandrillo. The foundation stone of St.John's Church, which then became the parish church, was laid on 18th October 1899, and the church was consecrated on 13th August 1903. It was built in response to an increasing population of English speaking incomers to the area and all services there were in English, while most services in St Catherine's were in Welsh.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Received from the parish by the Denbighshire Record Office in 1978 and transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009.