Photographs of the Nyasaland Legislative Council

Scope and Content

Album of photographs of the opening of the Legislative Council Chamber, Zomba,1957.

Administrative / Biographical History

The British Protectorate of Nyasaland was founded in 1891 and merged withNorthern and Southern Rhodesia in the 1950s to form the Federation of Rhodesiaand Nyasaland (the Central African Federation). Nyasaland itself was governed bya Legislative Council nominated by the British Crown. This was seated atZomba and in 1958 was made up of 23 members (5 Africans and 18 Europeans) withan Executive Council of 9 (all Europeans). The Legislative Council, and Federation, weredissolved when Nyasaland gained its independence, as Malawi, in 1964. Zomba remained the seat of government in Malawi until 1975, when it was succeeded by Lilongwe.

Access Information

Bodleian reader's ticket required.


Collection level description created by Paul Davidson, Bodleian Library of Commonwealth and African Studies at Rhodes House.

Other Finding Aids

The library holds a card index of all manuscript collections in its reading room.

Conditions Governing Use

No reproduction or publication of personal papers without permission. Contact the library in the first instance.