Parish records of Scrayingham

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1648-2009 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1790); register of marriages, 1648-1977; register of burials, 1648-1946 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1813); register of banns, 1823-2007; register of services, 1971-1993; records concerning benefice income, including tithe map for Howsham, 1839, and tithe award and map for Leppington, 1843; churchwardens’ records, including fabric papers, 1920-1970, churchyard deed, 1887, and Leppington chapel accounts, 1971-1975; records of incumbents, including notes of church affairs and incumbents, collected 1898-1901; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including church room insurance policies, 1952-1970; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including enclosure award and map, 1830.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Peter and St Paul at Scrayingham dates to at least 1208, the date of the earliest known rector, Henry de Stuteville, although recent analysis has suggested that parts of the building may date from an eighth century Saxon foundation.

The patronage of the church was in the hands of the Lords Wake of Lyddel from an early date until the sixteenth century, when it returned to the Crown.

The church was repaired in 1811 and largely rebuilt in 1853 by George Townsend Andrews at the expense of Colonel Chomley of Howsham Hall. Colonel Chomley's wife, Hannah, later built Howsham Church in his memory.

Scrayingham church is notable for being the burial place of George Hudson, the ‘Railway King.’ A new rectory was built I 1704 and altered in the 1760s and 1846.

The parish historically included Howsham and Leppington. There was a chapel of ease at Leppington, although this was demolished in 1979, and another, dedicated to St John the Evangelist, at Howsham until 1977, when it was transferred to the parish of Bossall with Buttercrambe.

Today the parish, which still includes Leppington, is part of the Stamford Bridge Group of parishes, together with Stamford Bridge and Low Catton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1972, 1980 and 2011.

Note

The church of St Peter and St Paul at Scrayingham dates to at least 1208, the date of the earliest known rector, Henry de Stuteville, although recent analysis has suggested that parts of the building may date from an eighth century Saxon foundation.

The patronage of the church was in the hands of the Lords Wake of Lyddel from an early date until the sixteenth century, when it returned to the Crown.

The church was repaired in 1811 and largely rebuilt in 1853 by George Townsend Andrews at the expense of Colonel Chomley of Howsham Hall. Colonel Chomley's wife, Hannah, later built Howsham Church in his memory.

Scrayingham church is notable for being the burial place of George Hudson, the ‘Railway King.’ A new rectory was built I 1704 and altered in the 1760s and 1846.

The parish historically included Howsham and Leppington. There was a chapel of ease at Leppington, although this was demolished in 1979, and another, dedicated to St John the Evangelist, at Howsham until 1977, when it was transferred to the parish of Bossall with Buttercrambe.

Today the parish, which still includes Leppington, is part of the Stamford Bridge Group of parishes, together with Stamford Bridge and Low Catton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2011.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1648-1877, marriages, 1648-1885, burials, 1648-1885, and banns, 1823-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 764, 1763).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Revised by S. Kent, September 2016.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193