Three files includes correspondence, petitions and reports from 1979-1981 concerning the unsuccessful campaign against the removal of the Humber ferry service
Campaign to prevent the closure of the Humber Ferry
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 50 U DX356
- Dates of Creation1979-1981
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description3 files
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The construction of a suspension bridge across the River Humber was approved in 1959 with the passing of the Humber Bridge Act and the creation of the Humber Bridge Board. Work on the construction of the bridge did not start until 1973 and this piece was inspired by its construction. Traffic first crossed the bridge on 24th June 1981 and it was officially opened by Her Majesty the Queen on 17th July 1981.
A campaign was organised against the withdrawal of the Humber ferry service running between New Holland and Kingston upon Hull by residents of New Holland in 1979. The popular ferry 'Farringford' was replaced temporarily during 1980 with the smaller 'Yorkshire Belle'. Residents such as Alan and Elizabeth Oldfield objected to its replacement and the 'Farringford' was reinstated.
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Deposited via Eric Evans in the Department of Economics at the University of Hull