Parish records of York, St Michael, Spurriergate

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1598-1763, 1773-1928 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1773-1812); register of marriages, 1598-1925, 1953-1964; register of burials, 1598-1763, 1773-1883 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1773-1812); register of banns, 1861-1929; register of services, 1885-1897, 1900-1983; records concerning benefice income, including sequestration papers, 1898; charity records, including minutes of meetings, 1799, 1802, 1841, accounts, 1770-1849, correspondence and papers, 1893-1949, quitclaims, 1501-1509, bonds, 1628-1745, feoffees' papers, 1606-1854, deeds for York, 1321-1921, deeds for Barlby, 1639-1685, deeds for Spurriergate, 1579-1921, deeds for High Ousegate, 1504-1869, deeds for Ousegate, 1321-1795, deeds for Low Ousegate, 1448-1566, deeds for St Michael's cemetery, 1421-1618, deeds for an unspecified street within parish, 1506-1742, deeds for Coppergate, 1721-1855, deeds for Jubbergate, 1474-1623, deeds for Coney Street, 1325-1537, deeds for Carrgate, 1421-1718, deeds for Gillygate, 1444-1591, and miscellaneous deeds, 1501-1911; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1518-1548, 1560-1562, 1594-1710, 1798-194, rates, 1592-1593, 1598, 1602, 1624, 1628, 1633, 1635, fabric papers, 1868-1983, bonds, 1566, 1572, quitclaim, 1636, visitors' book, 1949-1956, 'The Ancient Glass of St Michael's Spurriergate, York' by E Milner-White, and plan of vestry, nd.; records of incumbents, including benefice papers, 1987, papers regarding closure of church, 1984-1988, and correspondence, 1983-1987; overseers’ records, including apprenticeship indentures, 1827, 1843; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including choir subscriptions, 1863-1866, and Women's Guild minutes of meetings, 1943-1951; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1598-1602, 1607-1623, 1626-1710, 1791-1925, 1930-1938 (1930-1938 are combined minutes of St Michael and St Mary Castlegate), accounts, 1838-1950, electoral rolls, 1920-1959, census return, 1821, property papers, 1994, and 'Spurriergate Update', 1988.

Administrative / Biographical History

The advowson of the church of St Michael Spurriergate was granted to St Mary’s Abbey at the time of the Norman Conquest and was confirmed to them between 1088 and 1093. St Mary’s held the advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it passed to the Crown, and then in 1868 to the Archbishop of York.

The parish was not affected by the consolidation of city parishes that took place in the 16th century. The benefice was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1758 and 1761, and by the Parliamentary Fund in 1815, the funds being used to purchase land at Flawith in Alne. In 1812 a part of the churchyard was sold to York Corporation for the rebuilding of Ouse Bridge. The church was partially rebuilt in 1867-1868 by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York and the interior was restored in 1965-1969 by George Pace.

In 1885 the benefice was united with that of St Mary Castlegate, but both churches remained in use. In 1936 the two parishes were formally joined to become St Mary Castlegate with St Michael Spurriergate and in 1953 St Michael’s Church was relicensed to perform marriages.

St Michael’s Church closed in 1984 and converted into a cafe and restaurant in 1989 by architect Ronald Sims. Today the parish forms part of the combined parish of All Saints Pavement with St Crux and St Michael Spurriergate. The parish church is now All Saints Pavement.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1974 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1989, 1994 and 1995.

Note

The advowson of the church of St Michael Spurriergate was granted to St Mary’s Abbey at the time of the Norman Conquest and was confirmed to them between 1088 and 1093. St Mary’s held the advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it passed to the Crown, and then in 1868 to the Archbishop of York.

The parish was not affected by the consolidation of city parishes that took place in the 16th century. The benefice was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1758 and 1761, and by the Parliamentary Fund in 1815, the funds being used to purchase land at Flawith in Alne. In 1812 a part of the churchyard was sold to York Corporation for the rebuilding of Ouse Bridge. The church was partially rebuilt in 1867-1868 by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York and the interior was restored in 1965-1969 by George Pace.

In 1885 the benefice was united with that of St Mary Castlegate, but both churches remained in use. In 1936 the two parishes were formally joined to become St Mary Castlegate with St Michael Spurriergate and in 1953 St Michael’s Church was relicensed to perform marriages.

St Michael’s Church closed in 1984 and converted into a cafe and restaurant in 1989 by architect Ronald Sims. Today the parish forms part of the combined parish of All Saints Pavement with St Crux and St Michael Spurriergate. The parish church is now All Saints Pavement.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1995.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1598-1928, marriages, 1598-1925, burials, 1598-1838, and banns, 1861-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 863, 1764). The churchwardens' accounts, 1518-1548, have been published by the Borthwick Institute (see publications note below).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 26.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Mary Castlegate which include the minute book of the Guild of St Mary Castlegate with St Michael Spurriergate, 1943-1951, and registers of baptisms, 1875-1974, and banns, 1923-1980, which were also used for St Michael's. See also the parish records of York, All Saints Pavement which include papers relating to St Michael Spurriergate's United Charity established for the relief of the distressed in the City of York, 1991-2000, and those of York, St Michael le Belfrey which include plans for the Spurriergate Centre at St Michael's Church.

Bibliography

C. C. Webb (ed), 'The Churchwardens' Accounts of St Michael, Spurriergate, York 1518-48' (University of York, 1997).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193