Financial records (statements, account books, receipts, ticket books and pier tolls), 1904 - 1976; time tables, advertisements and posters, 1949 - 1980; log - book of Pier, 1975 - 1983; tourism, yachting and carnival publications, 1954 - 1974; newspapers and newspaper cuttings, 1947 - 1976; miscellaneous documents, 1909 - 1981; Liverpool and North Wales Steamship Company Limited financial reports, 1931 - 1952; and miscellanea,  - 1981.
Menai Bridge Pier papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Menai Bridge Urban District Council was established in 1894, and abolished in 1974. The Council's Pier Committee oversaw the construction and upkeep of Menai Bridge Pier (St George's Pier), which was opened in 1904; a Piermaster was appointed, responsible for overseeing the shipping traffic and visitors. The warehouse and pier are part of an historic dockside built by the Davies family of Menai Bridge, ship owners. The Gatehouse (or Kiosk) on the Pier Promenade was originally used as the ticket office for passengers using the boats which used to tie up at The Pier. The main shipping lines using the pier were the Liverpool and North Wales Steamship Company, the Isle of Man Steam Packet Company, the White Funnel Fleet Company Limited, Bangor Corporation Ferry and the Bangor, Beaumaris and Menai Bridge Ferry. The Pier is still used by excursion traffic along the North Wales coast.
Arranged into the following: financial; Liverpool and North Wales Steamship Company Limited and other companies; timetables, leaflets and posters; tourism, yachting and carnival publications; newspapers and newspaper cuttings; and miscellaneous.
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Deposited by the Piermaster, Menai Bridge, October 1983.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da /Good condition
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Menai Bridge Pier papers; 'Funding success for Menai Bridge' on Civic Trust Wales website (www.civictrustwales.org/menai_project280103.htm), viewed 03 July 2003.
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected