Celynen Collieries Institute and Memorial Hall (Newbridge Memo)

Scope and Content

The collection comprises of minutes 1918-1984, financial records 1912-2003, correspondence c1940s-c1980s, and miscellanea 1908-2011.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Institute

In 1898 a group of miners formed a committee to establish an association. Initially they met in a tavern but the men realised the need for their own premises. The original Institute was built using funds from a private mortgage. Although Celynen Collieries’ Institute is similar in its function and facilities to other miners’ institutes, it is believed that it is unique in that the mine workers built it themselves. Celynen Collieries' Workingmen's Institute formally opened in April 1908. The Institute had a library, reading and billiard rooms and from the 1960’s was used as a social and drinking club.

The Memorial Hall

The Memorial Hall was built to commemorate the 75 men from the small town of Newbridge who died in the Great War. The decision to form the Welcome Home Committee to honour those Newbridge soldiers and sailors who had fought in the War was made at a meeting at the Celynen Collieries’ Institute on 21 November 1918. Initially the Committee’s efforts were focused on a reception and celebration to mark the homecoming of these soldiers and sailors. The decision to build a memorial hall wasn’t made until 1923 just after the initial mortgage for the Institute had been paid off. The minute book records that on 2 June 1923, a tender to build the Memorial Hall (referred to as “the new Hall”) was accepted by the Committee. At a Special General Meeting on 9 June 1923 it was agreed to take out a mortgage, using the Institute as security to fund the building of the new Hall. Six foundation stones were laid on 29 December 1923 and the Memorial Hall was formally opened in March 1925.

This information was taken from http://www.newbridgememo.co.uk/en/heritage-learning/

Access Information

Accessible to all researchers by appointment. Items within this collection containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act. Contact the repository for further details.

Archivist's Note

Description compiled by Katrina Legg for Swansea University, with reference to: Newbridge Memo website (http://www.newbridgememo.co.uk/en/heritage-learning/) viewed 6 Jan 2016


Geographical Names