Records of Boundary Road United Reformed Church, Beeston, formerly Lenton Abbey Congregational Church; 1929-2010

Scope and Content

The collection contains:

MS 900/A: Account Book of Boundary Road United Reformed Church, formerly Lenton Abbey Congregational Church; 1933-1966

MS 900/C: Correspondence files of Boundary Road United Reformed Church, formerly Lenton Abbey Congregational Church; 1973-2008

MS 900/M: Minutes of the Various Committees of Boundary Road United Reformed Church, formerly Lenton Abbey Congregational Church; 1929-2012

MS 900/N: Newsletters, scrapbooks etc regarding Boundary Road United Reformed Church; 1933-2006

MS 900/P: Plans and other documents regarding alterations of and extensions to the buildings at Boundary Road Church; 1930s-1980s

MS 900/R: Roll of Church Members [at Boundary Road United Reformed Church, formerly] Lenton Abbey Congregational Church, Nottingham; 1934-1989

MS 900/S: Church Secretary's Records, Boundary Road United Reformed Church; 1982-1993

Administrative / Biographical History

Lenton Abbey Congregational Church held the first evening service on 28th April 1929 and the final service was held 25th July 2010. The church changed its name from Lenton Abbey Congregational Church to Boundary Road United Reformed Church in about 1972, when the United Reformed Church was formed from a union of the Presbyterian Church of England and the Congregational Church in England and Wales. However, the name was fluid: documents refer to it as Boundary Road Church before that date, and as Lenton Abbey United Reformed Church as late as 1979.

The premises for the Church opened 28 Sept 1933, and from 1935 the Church was registered for the solemnization of marriages. As well as regular services, the Minister was also part-time Chaplain to the University of Nottingham. From 15th April 1930 there was a Sunday School for 5 to 11 year olds, and an after-school and holiday care club called 'Bounders'. In 1987 a Community Centre was built onto the existing church site. Declining membership led to the Church's closure in 2010.


The papers were generally kept chronologically within their series, an arrangement that has been maintained. Duplicates were removed, particularly of the newsletters.

Conditions Governing Access

The bulk of the collection is accessible to all readers. However, access may be restricted to some material under the Data Protection Act 1998 and other relevant legislation. Please see our Access Policy or contact us for further advice.

Other Finding Aids

Copyright in all finding aids belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Online: Available on the Manuscripts Online Catalogue, accessible from the website of Manuscripts and Special Collections.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements


Conditions Governing Use

Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult.

Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections

Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational and private study purposes only, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Custodial History

The records were transferred to the University of Nottingham in October 2011, after the Church voted to close in the July of the previous year.