Denbigh Endowed Grammar School was probably established in 1727. The school reopened at Bron y Parc, Park Street in 1866 and was taken over in 1894 by the County Governing Body as a County School for boys from Denbigh and Ruthin Districts.
In 1903 the school moved to Middle Lane, Denbigh.
In 1938 the school became co-educational, accepting boys and girls from the Denbigh district.
In 1945 the County School was renamed Denbigh Grammar School.
Denbigh Central School opened in 1938 (see ED/24) and was later renamed Denbigh Secondary Modern School in 1945. The two schools joined to form Denbigh High School (Comprehensive) in 1967.
The material for Debigh Central School consists only of governors and managers minutes. The material for the grammar school is more extensive and includes admission and attendance registers, financial papers and some photographs.
For public notice concerning Couty School 1895 see DD/DM/39/1
For copy of school magazine Y Bych July 1954, see DD/DM/178/1.
For log book of Central School, 1938-1946 see ED/LB/24/8, for admission registers 1938-1957, see ED/AR/24/7-8