Cymer Independent Chapel, Porth, Records

Scope and Content

Cymmer Independent Chapel, Porth records comprising of photograph portraits of ministers; photograph of band of hope, 1900; plan of graveyard, 1877; papers regarding the removal of human remains, 2004

Administrative / Biographical History

The cause was apparently founded in 1738 by Henry Davies [1696-1766] and the chapel, built in 1743 ('old Cymer chapel') was the first Nonconformist chapel in the Rhondda valleys. It was rebuilt in 1834 and closed in 1987. In 2004 a plan was drawn up to remove most of the graveyard for a road scheme.

Arrangement

Arranged chronologically by record series

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by former secretary and treasurer of the chapel, 2004

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply

Appraisal Information

All records offered have been accepted and listed

Accruals

Accruals are not expected

Related Material

See also DX479/1-2 (Baptism Register, 1796-1844); Call to the Reverend Joshua Evans, 1825; DXGC181/1-2 (Facsimile and index to Baptism Register)