Comprising: committee minutes 1829-1947; admission registers 1844-1905; annual reports 1829-1966; visitors books 1829-1920; teachers records 1899-1961; school magazine 1946-1979; buildings 1837-1934; pamphlets and publications 1854-1934
YORKSHIRE RESIDENTIAL SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Now called the Yorkshire Residential School for Deaf Children. Founded in 1829, it started life in Eastfield House under the headmaster of Charles Baker. Since then it has expanded its activities to include nursery and further education facilities. In 1829 it had an intake of 11 boys; now it caters for the needs of over 200 deaf children and adults.
The collection consists of nine series as follows:
SR90/1: Minute Books
SR90/2: Annual Reports
SR90/4: Visitors Books
SR90/8: School Magazines
SR90/9: Pamphlets and Publications
Access to these records is restricted to those who have obtained the permission of the headmaster. Please contact Doncaster Archives for further details.
Accession numbers require checking