St. Illtyd's College, Cardiff

Scope and Content

School magazines, photgraph of school pupils and copy of letter relating to a school pupil

Administrative / Biographical History

St. Illtyd's College was opened in 1923 by the Brothers of the Christian Schools as a college and preparatory school for Roman Catholic boys, partly supported by a grant from Cardiff County Borough educational authority for the provision of secondary education. The school occupied temporary premises until 1930 when it moved to Courtenay Road, Splott. In the 1960s, the school moved to Quarry Hill, Rumney.

Conditions Governing Access

Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply

Acquisition Information

Private source

Other Finding Aids

Detailed List available

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Fair condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Richard Morgan for the Glamorgan Record Office October 2006

Appraisal Information

All records which meet the collection policy of the Glamorgan Archives have been retained

Custodial History

Private source