Image of site 260 (Temple of Amun) after clearing taken from the enclosure wall looking west looking through the centre of the Temple. The outer peristyle hall (site 271) with remains of a central building (site 279) can be seen in the background, followed by a small hall with four sets of columns (site 270), a small hall with three sets of columns (site 273, with room 272 on the left); and a hall with two sets of columns (site 269, with room 278 on the left). In front of the halls are three ‘sanctuaries’; site 265 (left); site 261 with the high altar (centre); and site 265. The ‘hall of columns’ (site 266) can be seen on the far right with a corridor at the side (Site 274). The sites of three ‘divine burials’ (268, 262, and 263, left to right) can be seen in the foreground.
Meroë site 260: General View
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 3431 JG/M/D/8/b
- Former ReferenceGB 3431 D.6GB 3431 M.260a
- Dates of Creation[1910-1912]
- Physical Description1 silver gelatine dry plate glass negative (188mm x 124mm)
- Digital Content
Scope and Content
Conditions Governing Access
There is no album print of this image.
Conditions Governing Use
The digital image is copyright of the University of Liverpool.