Parish records of Wharram le Street

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1538-1696, 1702-1978; register of marriages, 1538-1696, 1702-1749, 1754-1836, 1838-1978; register of burials, 1538-1696, 1702-1978; register of banns, 1824-1919; register of services, 1917-1961; records concerning benefice income, including letters, 1842, 1928; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1935-1957, and churchyard papers, 1988-1994; school records, including applications for headship of East Acklam Church of England School, 1934, and Wharram le Street Church of England School, 1934-1935.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church at Wharram le Street dates to at least the twelfth century, although its tower may be Anglo-Saxon. It was given by Robert and William Fossard to Nostell Priory at its foundation in 1120-1122. It was a peculiar of the Prebend of Bramham, which was annexed to the Priory until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century when the parish became subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York.

The living was augmented in 1773 and 1788. In 1833 the benefice of Wharram le Street was united with that of nearby Wharram Percy. By this time the patronage of the church was held by the Willoughby family, Barons Middleton.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Mary, was restored in 1862-1863 by J. B. and W. Atkinson, at the expense of Lord Middleton. A vicarage was built in 1886.

In 1971 the parish united with that of Wharram Percy. Today the parish of Wharram Percy with Wharram le Street is part of the benefice of Weaverthorpe with Helperthorpe and Luttons Ambo, which also includes Kirby Grindalythe.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1984 and 1999.

Note

The church at Wharram le Street dates to at least the twelfth century, although its tower may be Anglo-Saxon. It was given by Robert and William Fossard to Nostell Priory at its foundation in 1120-1122. It was a peculiar of the Prebend of Bramham, which was annexed to the Priory until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century when the parish became subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York.

The living was augmented in 1773 and 1788. In 1833 the benefice of Wharram le Street was united with that of nearby Wharram Percy. By this time the patronage of the church was held by the Willoughby family, Barons Middleton.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Mary, was restored in 1862-1863 by J. B. and W. Atkinson, at the expense of Lord Middleton. A vicarage was built in 1886.

In 1971 the parish united with that of Wharram Percy. Today the parish of Wharram Percy with Wharram le Street is part of the benefice of Weaverthorpe with Helperthorpe and Luttons Ambo, which also includes Kirby Grindalythe.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1999.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1538-1900, banns, 1824-1900, and a history of the parish covering the period 1200-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 808, 1756, 1778).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Wharram Percy are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193