Scope and Content

Headington Quarry lies to the north-east of the centre of Oxford, and to the south of old Headington. As its name suggests, the area was created around the stone quarries of Headington, which helped to build so much of the city.

Although there had been settlements around the quarry area for many years, and many people lived there, it was not until the 1840s that a new parish was created specially for the quarry. Work on the new church began in 1848, and the parish registers started in 1849.

Records of Headington Quarry have been deposited at various times. Two deposits were made with the Bodleian Library, 1957, and at an unknown date, before the records were transferred to Oxfordshire Record Office in the 1980s. Further deposits were made with Oxfordshire History Centre as Acc 2546 in March 1986, Acc 3262 in May 1991, Acc 4221 in March 1997, Acc 4421 in November 1998, Acc 4889 in August 2001, Acc 4993 in May 2002 and Acc 6520 in November 2016. A conspectus of old and new references is provided at the end of the catalogue.

Catalogued by Robin Darwall-Smith in November 1998, additions by Mark Priddey, May 2003 and Alison Smith January 2017.

Access Information


Geographical Names