At the commencement of the log books the school was a mixed juniors and infants school with about 60 scholars on roll. The head teacher was Mr Parry but in March 1891 the ‘HMI is unable to report that the staff is efficient’ (page 36 ED/LB/53/1). Mr Parry left his post in April 1891. He was followed by Joseph Roberts and Christmas Edward Evans. By 1897 there were 41 scholars on roll but attendance was always a problem. ‘Turnips occupy most of the older boys. This child labour is a nuisance.’ (page 160 ED/LB/53/1).
By 1900 there was a new head teacher – Mary Ann Jones, but when she left in June 1904 a dispute arose between the school managers and the local education authority over the appointment of a new head teacher. After a series of temporary head teachers, in January 1906 WJ Clifford took up the post.
By 1908 there were 53 scholars on roll and in February 1914 DL Thomas became head teacher. HMI reported on the bad conditions in the school with running water still not available. From October 1915 the head teacher was called up for war service returning to post in January 1918 briefly. In June 1919 the new headmistress was JM Jones.
The school still exists (2017)– the existing Victorian building was remodelled and extended in 2007 by Ainsley Gorman Architects to cater for rising pupil numbers. In 2016 there are 68 pupils on roll and the school is known as Ysgol Y Plas – a voluntary aided church in Wales primary school.
(Ysgol Y Plas)
OS map 1880 – Sheet 1V ‘School’ marked at Plas Llanelian
CD/A/4/228- Plans, 1964