Robert B. Shaw, American poetry since 1960

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 CPA/1/1/1/92
  • Former Reference
      GB 133 Sequence 1, Box 39
  • Dates of Creation
      [ca 1971-1972]
  • Physical Description
      320 sheets

Scope and Content

Book file relating to a volume of critical essays edited by Robert B. Shaw, entitled American poetry since 1960 (Cheadle: Carcanet Press, 1973), printed by W. and J. Mackay. The book contained essays by Frances Ferguson, Edward Mendelson, Shaw himself, Alan Williamson, James Atlas, Harold Bloom, Susan Holahan, Albert Gelpi, Michael Mesic, J.D. McClatchy, Peggy Rizza, R.D. Rosen and Mark Strand. The file contains only the manuscript of the book, which is in the form of ribbon, carbon or photocopy typescripts in various formats, supplied by each contributor, with preliminaries added by Carcanet and notes and booklists compiled by Shaw. This does not include an index, and Shaw's own essay, 'The Poetry of Protest' is missing. Schmidt has marked the manuscript up for printing (in red and green), and standardized layout and stylistic conventions; further printing instructions have been added in pencil, presumably by the printers. Minor editing of the essays was probably carried out by the respective authors as this varies from piece to piece. Separate title pages for six of the essays are placed at the end of the manuscript; these had presumably been removed because the essays in the book do not have separate section title pages, and were originally placed with the material in CPA/1/1/1/91/3.


The archivist has added running numbers at the top left corner of each sheet.