PN Review 9

Scope and Content

Part of the manuscript and the proofs of PN Review 9 (1979). This issue contained: editorial by C.H. Sisson; poems by Donald Davie, John Matthias, Michael Hamburger, Czeslaw Milosz (translated by George Gömöri and Clive Wilmer), Paul Wilkins, John Finlay, Andrew Motion, C.H. Sisson, Ian McMillan, David Wright, Paul Mills, Donald Hall, Cliff Ashby, Peter Scupham and David Day; essays and review articles by Stephen Bann, David Levy, John Pilling, Michael Cayley, Laura (Riding) Jackson, John Haffenden, Neil Powell, Jeremy Hooker, Donald Davie, Martin Seymour-Smith, D.G. Bridson, Robert A. Ferguson, David Wright, Lionel Salter and Dudley Young; book reviews by Michael Hamburger, Donald Davie, Jeremy Hooker, Blake Morrison, Clyde Binfield, D.G. Bridson, Una Allis and David Levy; and letters to the editor from Geoffrey Pawling, Evan Gwyn Williams and Frank Wallace. The issue also included a special supplement produced in celebration of Edgell Rickword's eightieth birthday, containing pieces on Rickword by: Alan Munton (who edited the supplement); Simon Collier; Jack Lindsay; A.L. Morton; William Empson; C.H. Sisson; Gabriel Pearson; Boris Ford; John Coombes; Julian Symons; Jack Beeching; Arnold Rattenbury; David Holbrook; E.P. Thompson; David Gascoyne; John Betjeman; Eric Walter White; Roy Fuller; Fraser Steel; Alan Young; Michael Schmidt; and Wyndham Lewis. The supplement also included a selection of Rickword's own poetry and criticism.