Richard Crashaw, Selected poems

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 CPA/1/1/1/19
  • Former Reference
      GB 133 Sequence 1, Box 7
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      95 sheets

Scope and Content

Book file relating to Richard Crashaw, Selected poems, ed. Michael Cayley (Oxford: Carcanet Press, 1972), published as part of the Fyfield Books series, and printed by Compton Press. No proofs survive for this volume, which is represented solely by Cayley's original manuscript. All of Crashaw's poems have been uniformly typed out, and Carcanet have added two preliminary sheets to Cayley's typescript. Michael Schmidt has carried out some minor editing on Cayley's introduction, and the manuscript has been marked up with printing instructions throughout.


The manuscript bears its original foliation added by Carcanet Press. This runs from 1 to 90. There are an additional five unnumbered folios: 2 preliminary pages at the very beginning of the manuscript; 2 insertions between folios 45 and 46 (which indicate that the typescript was originally stored in two separate folders); and a final blank page at the very end of the manuscript.