Records of the Dee and Clwyd River Authority, 1542-1978 (accumulated 1965-1978) including records relating to the River Dee Company, 1542-1889; Dee Conservancy Board records, 1890-1966; Rhuddlan Marsh Embankment Trust records, 1684-1941; Rhyl Marsh Enclosure records, 1836-1852; River Dee Drainage Board records, 1610-1939; River Dee Catchment Board records, 1770-1954; River Clwyd Drainage Board records, 1846-1933; River Dee and Clwyd Catchment Board, 1848-1965; River Dee Fishery Board records, 1866-1956, and plans, 1732-1974; River Dee Joint Committee, 1935-1950; records relating to the Hawarden Embankment Trust, 1853-1930; River Dee Internal Drainage Boards, 1934-1936; records relating to the West Denbighshire and Flintshire Water Board, 1965-1974; and records relating to the Welsh National Water Development Authority, 1974-1978.
DEE AND CLWYD RIVER AUTHORITY RECORDS
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 208 DC
- Dates of Creation1653-1979
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1544 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1965, the Dee and Clwyd River Authority was constituted, superseding the numerous earlier authorities concerned with the navigation of the Dee Estuary and the drainage of low-lying coastal and estuarial land. The construction of a navigable cut from Chester to Connah's Quay had been empowered by an Act of 1732, to replace the old deep-water channel to the north of the estuary, and in 1740 the River Dee Company was created to maintain the navigation. The Dee Conservancy Act 1889 established the Dee Conservancy Board, taking over the Company's functions. In 1938, the Conservancy Board officially came to an end. An Act of 1794 constituted the Rhuddlan Marsh Embankment Trust; the coasts and the banks of the river were embanked. In 1921, the River Clwyd Drainage Board took over their powers, and in turn passed them to the Dee and Clwyd River Authority. The enclosure of Rhyl Marsh was considered in 1831, and a committee was set up. In 1853, the Rhyl Improvement Commissioners became responsible for the Rhyl Marsh Committee. The River Dee Drainage Board was established under the Land Drainage Acts of 1861 and 1918 and the River Dee Drainage Order of 1922. This Board was abolished in 1934, and replaced by the River Dee Internal Drainage Board. The River Dee Catchment Board was established in 1930 to maintain main water courses and land drainage. In 1946, its powers were wholly transferred to the Rivers Dee and Clwyd Catchment Board, established by the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries. In 1950, together with the Rivers Dee and Clwyd Fishery Board, it became the Dee and Clwyd River Board, under the River Boards Act, 1948. The Rivers Clwyd and Elwy Fishery Board was created in 1894; in 1949, it was amalgamated with the River Dee Fishery Board and the River Dee Joint Committee to form the Rivers Dee and Clwyd Fishery Board. The Hawarden Embankment Trust was active from 1853 to 1930. The Central Flintshire Water Board held its first meeting in 1964. The West Denbighshire and West Flintshire Water Board held its first meeting in 1965. From 1974 until 1979, the Welsh National Water Development Authority, later the Welsh Water Authority, comprised three different divisions of River, Water, and Sewage. The Hawarden and District Waterworks Company was incorporated in 1883, but from 1964 its undertakings were under the Central Flintshire Water Board.
Arranged into the following: River Dee Company; Dee Conservancy Board; Rhuddlan Marsh Embankment Trust; Rhyl Marsh Enclosure; miscellaneous; plans; and additional.
Data Protection Act restrictions will apply to any items less than 100 years old that contain personal information as defined by the Act.
Deposited by the Dee & Clwyd River Authority, Chester per Dr H.H. Crann, Chief Officer and Engineer and by the Welsh National Water Authority, Mold between 1971 and 1979.
Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Flintshire Record Office, Catalogue of Dee & Clwyd River Authority Records; Environment Agency website(www.environment-agency.gov.uk), viewed 13 January 2004; Versey, A.G., Guide to the Flintshire Record Office (Flintshire County Council, 1974).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Flintshire Record Office. Catalogue is searchable online at: http://calmview.flintshire.gov.uk/CalmView/
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Flintshire Record Office, Catalogue of Dee & Clwyd River Authority Records; Environment Agency website (www.environment-agency.gov.uk), viewed 13 Jan 2004; Versey, A.G., Guide to the Flintshire Record Office (Flintshire County Council, 1974).
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected