Financial and administrative records, 1921-1945
Glenavon Garw Collieries Limited records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Glenavon Garw Collieries Limited was incoprorated in 1907 and owned by R. McEwwn and W.F. Gibb of Post Office Chambers, Port Talbot. Shortly after this date they opened up the Glenavon Colliery into the No. 2 Rhondda seam. Nantewlaith Colliery was opened by Gibbs' Navigation Collieries Limited. By 1935 this colliery was owned by the Glenavon Garw Collieries Limited. On Nationalisation of the nation's coal mines in 1947, Nantewlaith Colliery was placed in the National Coal Board's South Western Division's No. 2 Area. The colliery was closed in November 1948. Glenavon Colliery was not worked by the National Coal Board. The colliery closed in 1949. Glenavon and Nantewlaith Collieries are located in the Cymmer Afan Valley.
Arranged into series and then in date order.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained
Accruals are not expected.