Marston Church of England School opened in 1851 following a decision in 1849 by the parish church that the parish orchard could be given up as a site for the building of a school in Old Marston. The school seems to have also been known as Marston Village School, and Marston National School. Please see CC4/145 for other records of this school.
In Sept 1947 the school became a primary school, and was also known as Marston Primary School. Children over 11 years old went to Gosford Hill County Secondary Modern School in Kidlington. In July 1954 Marston School closed in readiness for the opening of the new St. Nicholas Primary School in Marston, also known as St. Nicholas First School. For further information about the history of the school, see the book in the Oxfordshire Record Office library 'Marston Village School, 1851-1954' written by Jan Sanders.
The records in this collection were deposited with Oxfordshire Record Office as Acc 4910 in October 2001 and Acc 5207 in October 2003, and catalogued by Jenny Childs in January 2004.