Formal grouped photograph
Lewis School, Pengam, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Lewis' School, Pengam in the Rhymney Valley was founded in the eighteenth century to provide education for boys. A school started in 1762 and in 1853 a new school was constructed on Tir y Bont at Pengam which admitted girls and boys; school instruction was later altered to provide a Grammar School type of education. In 1882 the girls were moved to a room in Gelligaer School Board's infants school at Pontlottyn.
Original order retained.
Donated by Gelligaer Historical Society, November 2015
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by H Thomas for Glamorgan Archives
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The photograph was passed to the Gelligaer Historical Society by a private individual whose great uncle, David Lewis Hughes, born December 1880 in Penarth and a boarder at the School appears in the centre of the first row. The Society subsequently donated the photograph to Glamorgan Archives, Nov 2015
Accruals are not expected.