Comprising: admission registers 1931-1974; admission registers for the Girls Technical School 1931-1976; admission registers for the Technical High School for Boys 1945-1970; admission register for the Armthorpe Road Site 1971-1977; admission register for the Leger Way Site 1974-1978
DONASTER, DANUM SCHOOL RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This school began life as the Central Schools in Danum Road, opened in 1931 with boys and girls departments. In 1945 the girls department was renamed the Technical High School for Girls and the boys became the Central Boys Secondary Modern School. The Technical High School for Boys which was also formed in 1945 shared premises on St George's Gate with the Technical College until new premises were built on Armthorpe Road in the late 1950s. The Central Boys Secondary Modern was replaced by Intake County Secondary Modern or High School which opened in 1957 on Leger Way.
These three schools merged to form the Danum Grammar School in 1970 which operated from the three existing premises on Danum Road, Armthorpe Road and Leger Way. The Danum Road premises were closed in the late 1970s or early 1980s and the school now operates from the two remaining sites.
The collection consists of a single series:
SR70/2: Admission Registers
The records in this collection are closed under data protection legislation. Please see item level descriptions or contact Doncaster Archives for further information.