Administrative records of Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School
Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 S11
- Dates of Creation1967 - 1977
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Separate Girls' and Boys' selective Central Schools were opened on a single site on the Selwyn Estate in Gainsborough Road, Richmond, in September 1927. Richmond Central Boys' School (ref: S9) was located on the ground floor of the building, with Richmond Central Girls' School (ref: S10) on the first floor. The schools ceased to be selective central schools in 1946, and became Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School and Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School. Both schools closed in July 1967, and re-opened as Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School in September 1967. It became a comprehensive school, known as Gainsborough Comprehensive School, in 1973, for pupils aged 11-16. The school closed on 28 July 1977.
In July 1967, Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School (ref: S9), and Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School (ref: S10), two administratively separate schools on the same site in Gainsborough Road, Richmond, closed. A new, mixed school opened on the same site in September 1967. Some of the staff from the earlier schools were employed in the new school, and Mr Horton, headmaster of Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School became headmaster of Gainsborough Mixed School. However, all of the records of the earlier schools closed in July 1967, with the log book of Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School noting on 21 July 1967 that the school ceased to exist as a separate school. New records were begun in September 1967. The records for the new school have therefore been catalogued separately.
The Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School Collection is arranged into 2 series records:
- S11/1 Log Books, 1967-1977
- S11/2 Admissions registers, 1967-1977
Conditions Governing Access
Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive.
The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html