Records of Ritson Street English Congregational Church, Briton Ferry, 1875-1993, comprising registers 1877-1908, 1963; minute books, 1912-1978; financial records, 1878-1993; Sunday School attendance registers, 1940-1982; Ladies Guild minutes, 1935-1961; correspondence, 1877-1949; deeds and documents, 1875-1946.
Records of Ritson Street English Congregational Church, Briton Ferry
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 216 D/D E/Cong 6
- Dates of Creation1875-1993
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(34 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Ritson Street English Congregational Church, Briton Ferry, Glamorgan (now Neath Port Talbot), began when English-speaking members of Bethesda Welsh Independent chapel in Briton Ferry formed a building committee to establish an English congregation. A lease of a plot of land in Ritson Street was acquired in 1875 from the Briton Ferry Estate, and a congregation began to meet in 1877. The church was built in 1880. It joined the Congregational Federation in 1972 and closed in 2003.
Arranged into the following: registers; minute books; financial records; Sunday School records; Ladies Guild; correspondence; deeds and documents.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformists - English Congregational - Records Of Ritson Street English Congregational Church, Briton Ferry, 1875-1993, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected