Public Records of H. M. Customs and Excise, relating to Pembrokeshire, including leases, 1800-1849; general warehouse bonds [c. 1775]-1866; letter books, 1915-1951; expenses register, Haverfordwest District Station, 1941-1942; register of private brewers, Haverfordwest Station, 1959-1962; and letter books, Narberth District Station, 1925-1947.
H. M. Customs and Excise Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 T/HMCE
- Dates of Creation[c. 1775]-1962
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionInformation to be supplied
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
H. M. Customs and Excise were responsible for the collection of duties payable to the Crown on the import and export of goods and on their manufacture. By the 19th century, collection of duties had become the responsibility of the Board of Custom and the Board of Excise (later becoming the Board of Inland Revenue). In 1909, the two boards were amalgamated into the Board of Customs and Excise. H. M. Customs and Excise had offices in Pembrokeshire. Under the Merchant Shipping Act 1835, ports were identified which were required to maintain registers of ships and seamen. In 1874, responsibility for registers of ships and seamen passed to the Registrar General. Separate records continued to be maintained of Custom and Excise tolls.
Arranged by type and date.
Deposited in February 2000 and transferred under Section 3(b) of the Public Records Act, 1958, in June 2004.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, HM Customs and Excise, catalogue; NDAD website (http://ndad.ulcc.ac.uk), viewed 25 May 2005.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Pembrokeshire Record Office.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected