Records of Capel yr Onllwyn, 1990-1994, including a marriage register, 1981-1991; hymnbook and chapel history by Sam Francis, 1990, 1994; xerox copies, [late 20th century], of church records including a graveyard survey and plan (1991-1992), miscellaneous registers (1913-1927), bills and receipts (1904-1927), photographs (20th century) and correspondence (1991).
Records of Capel yr Onllwyn
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Independent cause in Onllwyn, Glamorgan (later West Glamorgan), began in 1842, the year an ironworks was established in the area. The Old Chapel at Onllwyn appointed its first minister in 1848. In 1907 the congregation decided to build a larger chapel building and the new Capel yr Onllwyn was opened in 1910. The chapel was closed in 1992, the last service being held on Palm Sunday. Sam Francis, Creunant, was a member of the chapel at the time of its closure.
Arranged into the following: xerox; other records.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Religion - Nonconformist - Welsh Independent - Capel yr Onllwyn, catalogue; Francis, Samuel George, Hanes Capel yr Onllwyn/ Onllwyn Chapel, a Brief History (Neath, 1994).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected