Society records of the Methodist Church, Stillingfleet Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Minutes of the United Leaders' meetings for Stillingfleet, Naburn and Deighton chapels, 1966-1984.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

Methodism was introduced to Stillingfleet in the 1760s but it was not until 1819 that a permanent chapel was built on a site donated by Francis Sledge. A Sunday School was founded in 1900. The chapel was refurbished in 1911 and again in 1955.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Stillingfleet joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel shares an ecumenical partnership with the Anglican parish church of St Helen's, Stillingfleet. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1994. A further addition was made to the archive in 2013.

Note

Methodism was introduced to Stillingfleet in the 1760s but it was not until 1819 that a permanent chapel was built on a site donated by Francis Sledge. A Sunday School was founded in 1900. The chapel was refurbished in 1911 and again in 1955.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Stillingfleet joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel shares an ecumenical partnership with the Anglican parish church of St Helen's, Stillingfleet. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1994. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 28.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Further records relating to Naburn and Deighton Methodist chapels are deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Circuit records for the York Circuit, York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and York, Centenary and York, South Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of the York Circuit and York, New Street Circuit form a single archive (MRC/1), as do the records of both Centenary Circuits (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193