Museum of Welsh Antiquities Papers

Scope and Content

This fonds consists of a miscellaneous collection of material accumulated by the Museum of Welsh Antiquities located at the University College of North Wales, mainly relating to the University and surrounding area. It includes Museum visitors books, 1939-1967; newspaper cuttings concerning various subjects including the National Eisteddfod at Bangor, 1890; exemplification of a recovery relating to land at Clynnog, Caernarfonshire; photographs of clerics from Caernarfonshire, Anglesey and Liverpool; a social report relating to Amlwch, Anglesey, ca. 1831; a bundle of letters to Sir Harry Reichel, first Principal of the University College of North Wales and others on a variety of subjects relating to the University, ca. 1884-1900.

Also, proposals relating to the rehousing of the Museum in Penrhyn Castle, 1968.

Administrative / Biographical History

Bangor Museum and Art Gallery which is now located at Gwynedd Road, Bangor was originally known as the Museum of Welsh Antiquities and based at the University College of North Wales.


There is no apparent system of arrangement. Material has been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Access Information

Open to all users

Acquisition Information

Material deposited by Professor A.H. Dodd, on the transfer of the Museum of Welsh Antiquities to new premises.


Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, September 2001. Amended by Elen Wyn Simpson, March 2004

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Department of Manuscripts at the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 20401, 24317-24345, 25275-25391

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.