Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School (formerly Richmond Central Boys' School)

Scope and Content

Administrative records of Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School and its predecessor school, Richmond Central Boys' School.

Administrative / Biographical History

Separate Girls' and Boys' selective Central Schools were opened on a single site on the Selwyn Estate in Gainsborough Road, Richmond, in September 1927. Richmond Central Boys' School was located on the ground floor of the building, with Richmond Central Girls' School (ref: S10) on the first floor. The schools ceased to be selective central schools in 1946, and became Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School and Gainsborough County Secondary Girls' School. Both schools closed in July 1967, and re-opened as Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School (ref: S11) in September 1967.

Arrangement

Richmond Central Boys' School opened in September 1927 on the same site in Gainsborough Road, Richmond, as Richmond Central Girls' School (ref: S10) . Although the schools were in the same building, each school had its own staff and administration, and separate accommodation on the same site, so the records of the Boys' and Girls' Schools have been catalogued separately. However, when Richmond Central Boys' School ceased to be selective in 1946, and became known as Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School, the administrative functions continued, with the records of Richmond Central Boys' School remaining in use. The records of Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School and Richmond Central Boys' School have therefore been catalogued together. When the school closed in July 1967, all the administrative functions of the boys' school ceased, so the new mixed school which opened in September 1967, Gainsborough Secondary Mixed School, is catalogued separately (ref: S11).



The Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School collection is arranged into 2 series records:

  • S9/1 Admissions registers, 1927-1967
  • S9/2 Log Books, 1927-1967

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is closed and not currently available for research.

For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html

Related Material

The National Archives holds Secondary School Digest Files, 1928-1977, for Gainsborough County Secondary Boys' School (ref: ED162/3027).