The town of Denbigh was founded in 1283 by Henry de Lacy, 3rd Duke of Lincoln and was granted a borough charter in 1290. Boroughs such as Denbigh were afforded a measure of self-government as well as trading rights such as the right to hold a fair and a market; the boroughs were established by a charter or a series of charters. The government of boroughs was reformed in 1835 under the Municipal Corporations Act, 1835, with improved financial regulation and elected councils. The boroughs were given more and more powers in the nineteenth century, covering policing and the public health. A charter of 1662 gave the aldermen power to act as justices of the peace within the Borough of Denbigh. The Borough Court of Quarter Sessions was held until it was abolished in 1835. A court of record was also granted to the borough in 1662. The court was held fortnightly before the bailiffs, and dealt mainly with cases of debt under 40 shillings. Both courts were abolished during the reforms in 1835. In 1974, under the Local Government Act, 1972 Denbigh Borough was merged with a number of other authorities to form Glyndwr District Council.
Scope and content: Records of Denbigh Borough, 1290-1973, including Borough Charters, 1290-1662; Court of Convocation records, 1597-1848, including minutes, 1597-1848, burgess rolls, 1701-1834, orders and papers and agendas, 1609-1835; records of the Unreformed Corporation, 1572-1846, including Town Clerk's records, 1572-c.1835, financial records, 1599-1846; deeds relating to borough properties, 1560-1844; Denbigh Borough Court of Quarter Sessions records, 1790-1835; Borough Court records, 1805-1827; records of the Reformed Corporation, 1834-1973, including minutes, 1836-1970, records of the commissions of the peace, 1837-1951, Borough Council records, 1835-1973; Town Clerk's records, 1834-c.1970, financial records, 1836-1964, Borough Surveyor's records, 1873-1955; records relating to elections, 1796-1868; electoral registration records, 1835-1879; maps and plans, 1774-1947; correspondence, 1836-1946; building control plans, 1876-1935; miscellaneous, 1689-1906.