Parish records of Husthwaite

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1674-2015 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1770-1812); register of marriages, 1674-1983, 1985-2011; register of burials, 1674-2016 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1770-1812); register of banns, 1823-1882, 1892-2016; register of services, 1932-1967; records concerning benefice income, including notes on augmentation, 1719-1721, and condition of sale, 1873; charity records, including trustees' minutes of meetings, 1895-1957, and accounts, 1820-1934; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1794-1837, and insurance receipt, 1899; records of incumbents, including memoranda about curate 1707-1761, and vicarage papers, 1899; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1794-1811, 1814-1829, and rate books, 1837-1844; school records, including correspondence and papers, 1926-1931, and conveyance of teacher's house, 1864; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including Finance Committee minute book, 1933-1961, account books, 1936-1975, customs of manor of Husthwaite, 1698, and parish magazines, 1965-1992 (with some gaps); visitors' book, 1932-1994.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Church of St Nicholas, Husthwaite, dates to the twelfth century. It was granted to Newburgh Priory at an unknown date and was still in their possession at the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century when it passed to the Crown. In 1542 the Crown leased it to John Dawnay and in 1546 it was granted to Trinity College, Cambridge, along with the church of Coxwold and the chapels of Carlton and Over Silton.

The advowson was still in the hands of the college in 1856 when the perpetual curacy of Husthwaite was united with that of Birdforth. In 1864 the advowson was transferred to the Archbishop of York. The living was augmented in 1719-1721 through Queen Anne’s Bounty and the parish church was restored in 1895.

As part of the manor of Husthwaite, the parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Prebend of Husthwaite until the nineteenth century. The parish includes the township of Carlton Husthwaite. A chapel of ease has existed there since at least the seventeenth century, dedicated to St Mary. It was restored in 1885.

Today Husthwaite is part of the parish of Husthwaite with Carlton and Birdforth within the united benefice of Coxwold and Husthwaite.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1974 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1986, 1987, 1992 and 2016.

Note

The Church of St Nicholas, Husthwaite, dates to the twelfth century. It was granted to Newburgh Priory at an unknown date and was still in their possession at the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century when it passed to the Crown. In 1542 the Crown leased it to John Dawnay and in 1546 it was granted to Trinity College, Cambridge, along with the church of Coxwold and the chapels of Carlton and Over Silton.

The advowson was still in the hands of the college in 1856 when the perpetual curacy of Husthwaite was united with that of Birdforth. In 1864 the advowson was transferred to the Archbishop of York. The living was augmented in 1719-1721 through Queen Anne’s Bounty and the parish church was restored in 1895.

As part of the manor of Husthwaite, the parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Prebend of Husthwaite until the nineteenth century. The parish includes the township of Carlton Husthwaite. A chapel of ease has existed there since at least the seventeenth century, dedicated to St Mary. It was restored in 1885.

Today Husthwaite is part of the parish of Husthwaite with Carlton and Birdforth within the united benefice of Coxwold and Husthwaite.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2016.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1674-1854, marriages, 1674-1983, and burials, 1674-1891, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (Reference: MF 712).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.02.16. Updated 02.08.16 to include 2016 accession in the scope and content.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193