Financial abstract of the East India Company, entitled 'Abstract of the finances and disbursements for 1783-4, the estimate from the end of 1783'. The abstract is 'extracted from materials received from Bengal', and signed by John Annis 'Auditor of Indian Accounts' and endorsed by John Michie, Director of the Company. Other endorsements include the following: 'Deficiency 156 Lack 17 m[ohurs?]. Bond Debts 193 [Lack] 43 [mohurs?] or about £2,200,000'.
East India Company, 1784
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 712
- Dates of Creation
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 leaves
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The East India Company (formally called the Governor and Company of Merchants of London Trading into the East Indies (1600-1708) and the United Company of Merchants of England Trading to the East Indies (1708-1873)), was an English company formed for the exploitation of the spice trade in East and Southeast Asia and India. It was incorporated by Royal Charter in December 1600.
Access to this collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the supervised environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Bought from E. Hall in 1967.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
7¾" x 12½"
Compiled by Sarah Aitchison as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Further material relating to the East India Company is held at the British Library (Oriental and India Office Collections and Manuscript Collections); the Public Record Office, Kew; The Guildhall Library, London; All Souls College, Oxford University; Tower Hamlets Local History Library and Archives; the Bodleian Library, Oxford University; and Exeter University Library.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.