Pentredwr Council School, Llantysilio opened 11th January 1909.
The newly built council school, which had replaced a smaller church school in nearby Eglwyseg, opened with 39 pupils on its register as a Mixed Junior and Infants department. The first Headteacher was Llewelyn Roberts.
In 1920 the new headteacher was Simon M Jones. A HMI report of 1921 (Page 86 Log Book ED/LB/48/5) refers to declining rolls with only 29 pupils on the register. In 1938 there were 21 pupils on roll. By 1982 there were under 10 pupils on roll but there had been an increase in numbers in the 1960s and 70s due to Welsh language provision.
During the Second World War evacuees from Liverpool attended the school (page 208 - log book). Between 1945 -1964 the Headteacher was John Iorwerth Roberts who turned the school into a model 'unofficial' Welsh school - (Dictionary of Welsh Biography)
The school closed in 1982 because of dwindling numbers. The building was later (2015) used as a Community Centre.
This collection consists of one log book and one admission register.
Pentredwr - 25 inch OS Denbighshire map - sheet 34-2 (1912 edition)
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
DD/DM/927- Papers of John Iorwerth Roberts, Llangollen.
Related material held elsewhere-
The National Archives- Ref: ED 21/45985- School file on Pentredwr Council School (1921-1926)