This collection consists of minute books of the Bangor Musical Club Committee, 1909-1972, including details of the extraordinary meeting in November 1972, at which it was decided that the club should close. Also contains correspondence, statements of account, 1965-1973, concert programmes, 1959-1973 and a typescript copy of Bangor Musical Club: A Brief History of the Club, by Gwen Owen, which describes the history of the club from its establishment in 1909 until 1963.
Bangor Musical Club Papers
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description https://archiveshub.jisc.ac.uk/data/gb222-bmssbmus
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS BMUS
- Dates of Creation1909-1973
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description11 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Musical Club was established at Bangor, Gwynedd in 1909. Its formation was strongly supported by staff members of the University College of North Wales (now known as the University of Wales, Bangor) and early committee members included Sir Harry Reichel, College Principal, and Lady Reichel, who was club secretary until her death in 1911. The club staged several concerts a year, performed at Powys Hall, U.C.N.W., by professional musicians and by club members. It was forced to close in 1973 due to rising costs, falling membership and increased competition from concerts sponsored by the University and the Music Faculty.
Material was received on separate occasions, arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, October 2001
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 5261-5263, 15593, 18584-18585, 39020-39024
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.