Islwyn Borough Council Records

Scope and Content

Records of Islwyn Borough Council, 1973-1996.

Administrative / Biographical History

Islwyn Borough Council came into existence on 1 April 1974 as one of the five districts of the new county of Gwent. It consisted of the former Abercarn, Mynyddislwyn and Risca Urban Districts and part of Bedwellty Urban District and had a population of about 66 thousand. The Council comprised 35 elected councillors, including a Mayor. Their work was overseen by several committees, comprising Environmental Health & Control, Housing Services, Development Services, Leisure Services, Economic Development, General Purposes and Strategy & Policy. The principal officers employed by the Council were the Chief Executive, Chief Technical Officer, Chief Housing Officer, Chief Legal Officer, Direct Operations Manager, Chief Environmental Health Officer, Borough Treasurer, Chief Planning Officer and the Personnel & Management Services Officer. Islwyn Borough Council was abolished in 1996, becoming part of the new Caerphilly County Borough Council unitary authority.


No information found

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

No information found


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Gwent Record Office, Islwyn Borough Council, 1973-1996, catalogue; HTV Cymru/Wales, The Wales Yearbook (Cardiff, 1995); Civic Heraldry of England & Wales website (, viewed 26 September 2005.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Gwent Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names