Manuscript volume containing a series of fifteen questions directed against the farming out of the customs, , the first beginning 'If the customes or any other part of his Majestie's revenue settled by parliament should be farmed'.
Questions concerning customs farming
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 202
- Dates of Creation
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume containing 2 leaves
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The term 'customs' applied to customary payments or dues of any kind, regal, episcopal or ecclesiastical until it became restricted to duties payable to the King upon export or import of certain articles of commerce. By ordinance of 21 January 1643, the regulation of the collection of customs was entrusted to a parliamentary committee whose members were appointed commissioners and collectors of customs forming a Board of Customs. This and succeeding committees appointed by Parliament until 1660 and thereafter by the Crown, functioned until 1662, when those who had been serving as commissioners became lessees of a new form of customs. This continued until 1671 when negotiations for a new farm broke down and a Board of Customs for England and Wales was created by Letter Patent.
Access to this collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the supervised environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Part of the Goldsmith's Library of Economic Literature, initially collected by Herbert Somerton Foxwell and presented by the Goldsmith's Company to the University of London in 1903.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Manuscript folio. Bound in half-morocco.
Compiled by Sarah Smith as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.