Parish records of York, St Clement, Clementhorpe

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1874-1967; register of marriages, 1876-1968; register of funerals, 1923-1955; register of banns, 1929-1963; register of services, 1881-1930, 1935-1963; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1900-1947, and fabric papers, 1876-1950; records of incumbents, including dilapidations papers, 1928-1947, and statistical returns, 1891-1900, 1905; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including papers relating to the building and use of the church hall, 1913-1950, and accounts, 1932-1936, 1955-1960; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1894-1960, accounts, 1943-1960, papers, 1871-1935, conveyance of land for the site of St Clement's school, Cherry Street, 1871; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1916-1927, 1931-1950,1965-2001, finance committee minute books, 1878-1916, 1937-1942, accounts, 1938-1955, papers, 1939-1951, and magazine accounts, 1932-1937; minutes and papers of Annual Parochial Meetings 1980-2004; parish newsletters 1976-2006.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of York, St Clement Clementhorpe, began as a chapel of ease for the parish of St Mary Bishophill Senior. By the mid 19th century, St Mary had become the fastest growing parish in York, due largely to the growing settlement of the Clementhorpe-Bishopthorpe area outside the city walls and close to the railway works.
A new church, St Clement, was begun in 1872 and consecrated in 1874. The building was designed by York architects J. B. and W. Atkinson with later stained glass by J. W. Knowles and interior carving by Robert 'Mouseman' Thompson of Kilburn.
By 1876 St Clements had become the principal church of the parish, superceding St Mary Bishophill which was transferred to the parish of St Mary Bishophill Junior in August 1885, leaving St Clement as the parish church.
Today the parish is known as York, St Clement with St Mary Bishophill Senior.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1983 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1993 and 2015.

Note

The parish of York, St Clement Clementhorpe, began as a chapel of ease for the parish of St Mary Bishophill Senior. By the mid 19th century, St Mary had become the fastest growing parish in York, due largely to the growing settlement of the Clementhorpe-Bishopthorpe area outside the city walls and close to the railway works.
A new church, St Clement, was begun in 1872 and consecrated in 1874. The building was designed by York architects J. B. and W. Atkinson with later stained glass by J. W. Knowles and interior carving by Robert 'Mouseman' Thompson of Kilburn.
By 1876 St Clements had become the principal church of the parish, superceding St Mary Bishophill which was transferred to the parish of St Mary Bishophill Junior in August 1885, leaving St Clement as the parish church.
Today the parish is known as York, St Clement with St Mary Bishophill Senior.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993. Later material has not yet been listed.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1874-1953, marriages, 1868-1949, and funerals, 1923-1955, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 832-833, 1755).

Archivist's Note

Created 10.11.15; updated 22.09.2017

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Mary Bishophill Senior which include parish registers and other papers dated prior to the formation of St Clements in 1874, as well as records concerning Cherry Street Schools, 1871-c.1928.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193