Edmund Taylor, 'the Oldfield Lane doctor'
Founded his practice along similar lines to Whitworth, bonesetting, equality of rich and poor, veterinary and human, family run. Fond of sport. His sons trained in medicine but did not carry it on.
There may have been an earlier Taylor settled in Oldfield Lane, of Bessies o' th' Barn, an Edmund Taylor, brother of James Taylor (the father of John Taylor).
Later joined his practice with Ralph Milner (MRCS 1840), after Edmund Taylor's death in 1853 became the Oldfield Lane Doctor, and Milner's son, Edmund Taylor Milner became surgeon to Salford Royal Hospital was named after the original Oldfield Lane Doctor. See MMC/2/Milner.
Coat of arms on his grave in Eccles, removed cleaned and repainted by Bosdin Leech , not returned to grave as the railings had been removed for the war effort, so coat of arms was preserved in medical museum... based on the Leech of Leche family arms, relates to MMS crest.
Edmund Taylor [1774?]-1853, the brother of John and George Taylor of Whitworth (see MMC/2/Taylor), in the early nineteenth century he came to Manchester and quickly became known as the Oldfield Lane Doctor, practising near Bessies o' th' Barn. He had four sons, George, John (d 1830), James and Edmund, of whom at least four were educated at Manchester Grammar School. Edmund Taylor died 14 Mar 1853. James Taylor [1804?]-1922, was apprentice at MRI in the early 1820s, but died on 8 June 1822, aged 18. Edmund's youngest son, Edmund Taylor [1814?]-1851, practised at Booth Hall and gained his MD in 1847. He had earlier practised with his father, but was viewed by some as lazy. He was given Booth Hall by his father. Edmund Taylor died on 16 June 1851, two years before his father.
A relative of this family was Edmund Taylor, 1831-1877. He was the son of Samuel Taylor of Urmston (a nephew of Edmund Taylor d 1853). Taylor was born on 31 July 1831, gained his qualifications in 1853, and died on 25 January 1877.
See family tree in MMC/2/Taylor/1.