Parish records of Ryther

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1569-1648, 1654-1909; register of marriages, 1559-1651, 1653-1978; register of burials, 1558-1993 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1803-1812, ages only); register of banns, 1823-1896; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence and papers, 20th century, tithe accounts, 1847-1880, and tithe papers, 1920-1924; charity records, including correspondence and bank statement, 1945, and foundation deed, 1710; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1738-1796, 1916-1944, and fabric papers, 1921-1970; records of incumbents, including parsonage house papers, 1853-1937; school correspondence and papers, 20th century; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1839-1944, papers, 20th century, and magazines, 1982-1983.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Ryther was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. It is believed to have formed part of the property of the de Lacy family after the Norman Conquest, but subsequently passed to the de Ryther, Aske and then Robinson families.

The parish church is dedicated to All Saints and is late Saxon or early Norman in origins. The nave dates to the thirteenth century and the south aisle and chancel to the fourteenth. The church was restored in 1773 and 1843, and then again in 1898 by architect George Hodgson Fowler.

Historically the parish included Lead and Ossendike. Lead separated from Ryther in 1912 to join the parish of Saxton. Another part of the parish was added to Cawood in 1963.

Today Ryther is part of the benefice of Cawood with Ryther and Wistow.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1976 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979 and 1993.

Note

The existence of a church at Ryther was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. It is believed to have formed part of the property of the de Lacy family after the Norman Conquest, but subsequently passed to the de Ryther, Aske and then Robinson families.

The parish church is dedicated to All Saints and is late Saxon or early Norman in origins. The nave dates to the thirteenth century and the south aisle and chancel to the fourteenth. The church was restored in 1773 and 1843, and then again in 1898 by architect George Hodgson Fowler.

Historically the parish included Lead and Ossendike. Lead separated from Ryther in 1912 to join the parish of Saxton. Another part of the parish was added to Cawood in 1963.

Today Ryther is part of the benefice of Cawood with Ryther and Wistow.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1993.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1569-1885, marriages, 1559-1885, burials, 1558-1993, and banns, 1823-1896, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 759, 1579, 1763).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193