Shakespeare Tercentenary Committees

Scope and Content

Minutes, agenda and notes taken at meetings, in relation to the work of the Shakespeare Tercentenary Commemoration Committee.

Administrative / Biographical History

This Committee was established [ca. July 1914] as a result of the efforts of the British Academy towards celebrating the Shakespeare Tercentenary. This Committee was not technically part of the Shakespeare Memorial National Theatre movement, however many of the names involved in the Shakespeare Tercentenary were also involved with the SMNT project. Chairman of the Committee was Lord Plymouth, Gollancz was Honorary Secretary; other members on this committee were Sir George Alexander, Henry Irving, Mrs Lyttelton, Vaughan Williams and James Yoxall.

Conditions Governing Access


Related Material

- Further details about the celebration of the Shakespeare Tercentenary may be found in the minutes of the Executive Committee in 1914, in minute book SMNT/1/6/1.

- See SMNT/7/2/4 for material documenting the celebration of the Shakespeare Tercentenary in 1916.