Civic Theatres Committee

Scope and Content

This file covers the work of the Civic Theatres Committee. In particular, the file documents the efforts towards the establishment of Civic or Municipal theatres in the provinces or local authorities, to mirror the activity of the National Theatre at national level. Material in the file includes minutes of the Civic Theatres Committee and a report on the work of the Committee, in draft and published form. Although not directly related to the Shakespeare Memorial National Theatre, this file indicates that the need for cultural institutions of the type of a National Theatre was not an isolated one and was expressed by other voices alongside the SMNT Committee.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Civic Theatre scheme was initially conceived by the British Drama League in 1942. Among the members of the Civic Theatres Committee were Lewis Casson, Norman Marshall, Kenneth Rae, Llewellyn Rees and Geoffrey Whitworth.

Conditions Governing Access