Shakespeare Hut

Scope and Content

File documents the ceremony for the opening of the Shakespeare Hut, at the corner of Gower St. and Keppel St. in London, on 11 August 1916.

File includes:

- SMNT/7/2/5(1) card of invitation to the event

- SMNT/7/2/5(2) booklet with programme for the opening ceremony

- SMNT/7/2/5(3) draft schedule for the ceremony, hand-written in pencil on a page torn from a newspaper.

- SMNT/7/2/5(4) flyer advertising the Hut shortly before the opening date, and inviting contributions to the Shakespeare Hut Fund.

Administrative / Biographical History

At Executive meeting of 27/02/1916, it was proposed that the Gower Street site be given to the YMCA, during the war, to be used as a soldiers' hut and to be called the Shakespeare's Hut. The Executive committee would also contribute a sum towards the erection of the Hut, which is to happen at the time of the Centenary. Maintenance of the Hut is to be carried out by the YMCA. This proposal of the Executive Committee was approved at meeting of the General Committee on 03/03/1916; it was also agreed that the Committee would try and raise the amount necessary for the erection of Hut [as opposed to contributing with money from the SMNT fund]. Oswald Stoll contributed £500 towards the erection, from the 1616 guineas he had originally provided to be awarded for the architectural competition (see Executive meeting of 11/03/1916).

Conditions Governing Access

Open

Alternative Form Available

- SMNT/7/2/5(1): 6 duplicates

- SMNT/7/2/5(2): 1 duplicate

Related Material

- SMNT/1/3/9 documents the work of the Shakespeare Hut Committees, including names of members of such Committees.