Swansea, St Thomas Ecclesiastical Parish Records

Scope and Content

Registers (including service and banns registers) 1881-2016; photographs 1886-1900; parish magazines 1898-1993; miscellaneous 1888-1990; Parochial Church Council and Easter Vestry minutes, 1915-1993; Churchwardens' accounts, 1934-1994; Electoral roll, c. 1885-1994; Records relating to the running of St Thomas Infants' School, 1891-1920; Other records, 1957-2002

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a medieval chapel dedicated to St Thomas at the foot of Kilvey Hill (the precise site has been lost; only vestiges remained in the early 19th century), which gave its name to the hamlet that grew up on the eastern side of the River Tawe. Modern St Thomas Church was built in 1886 (replacing an earlier mission room) and the parish formed in 1888 from St Mary's. Includes St Stephen's church, Port Tennant. Currently joined with Kilvey.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Ecclesiastical Parishes, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.


Accruals are possible

Geographical Names